The Executive Board is the governing body of WNC.  It consists of the officers, the standing committee chairpersons, and the at-large committee chairpersons. 

The WNC Board
meets monthly and 
at other times 
deemed necessary.

From Our President

     Welcome to Wilmington and the Cape Fear Region. From the Riverwalk to Carolina Beach, and Downtown to Fort Fisher, there are many things to see and enjoy. 

     The goal of Wilmington Newcomers Club is to help make your transition less stressful and more fun. We do this by encouraging you to get involved and make new friends in your new life and home. We’re here to support you and maybe even to nudge you out of your comfort zone as you try new things. For instance, we have over 20 special-interest satellite groups. Something is sure to catch your eye as you get to know others who share your interests.


     Wilmington itself has much to offer. In addition to our beautiful beaches, there are historic mansions, museums, theaters, gardens, a battleship, festivals, farmer’s markets, sports, an excellent park system, and much more. Wilmington is also home to two fine colleges: University of North Carolina at Wilmington and Cape Fear Community College. Both institutions offer adult learning classes to stretch your minds.


     So, check us out! Come to one of our meetings. I have no doubt you’ll like what you see. You’ll soon realize that joining Wilmington Newcomers Club is one of the best gifts you can ever give to yourself. You deserve it!!


     Again, welcome to Wilmington. I look forward to getting to know you.

Warm wishes,

Pat Fennell

President, 2019-2020


Executive Board

Pat Fennell

1st Vice-President
Marsha Stanton

2nd Vice-President
Denise Hendershot

Linda Littlejohn

Assistant Treasurer
Barbara Thorn


Ellie O'Connor


Ellen McNair

Assistant Membership

Heather Frazier


Judi Vance


Linda Highsmith

Maureen Lewis

Newsletter & Website

Sandy Poore

Welcome Brunch

Sharon McIntyre

Gini Mulligan

Karen Sowers

Trudy Mullins


Sue Olmsted

Susan Hrubala


Jane Brody

Melanie Ferrara


Marilyn Valeo

Jean Collier

Christi Hassel-Shearer

Lyn Totty

Community Outreach

Jeanine Bartholomew


Sandra Sidwell

Social Media/ Publicity         Rachel Hunt 

Past President

Linda McAninch